​​ ​            L​​ a Salle County Fire Rescue & EMS
​and the
 Office of Emergency Management

Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

​​​A Local Emergency Planning Committee or LEPC, is a partnership between citizens, local government and industry to enhance hazardous materials preparedness. LEPC's are mandated organizations that consist of ​emergency responders, industry, government, educational institutions, media, and community groups.​​

LEPC's were established to carry out the requirements of the Federal Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (or EPCRA, also known as the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA), Title III) and related regulations for emergency response planning.

EPCRA helps to provide notification and access to information on chemicials at individual facilities, their uses, and releases into the environment.

Local Emergency Planning Committees provide for joint emergency planning, training, and public outreach within La Salle County, Texas.  As a result, communities working with industry are better able to protect public health and the envirnoment.


The primary mission of the La Salle County LEPC is to reduce risk and provide emergency response planning utilizing TIER II GIS Mapping & Product Reporting for chemical and/or hazardous material releases. The La Salle County LEPC is dedicated to public education and awareness, especially in local schools.

Next Meeting & Time: May 17th, 2017 @11:30AM
​Meeting Schedules: ​Quarterly (Feb./May/Aug./Nov.)​​, every third Wednesday @1130am 
Meeting Agenda: ​Present, Discuss and Approve LEPC ByLaws

Previous Meeting Minutes: 

Roll Call
Review status & progress of awarded/pending grants.
Review status & progress of proposed county wide alerting system.
Call to Order of Businenss to appoint LEPC Committee Members.
Action item: The Appointment of "Ad Hoc" By Law Committee Members (Simmons, Blakman, & Smith) to create By Laws Draft.

Executive Committee Members:

Dr. Seals/Cotulla ISD Superintendent.......Chair
 Sgt. Rodriguez III/TXDPS Trooper..............Vice Chair
Capt. Mendez/LSCFR....................................Secretary

Standing Committee Members:
​Citizen and Community Groups - Chief Johnny Gomez (Cotulla VFD)
Communications - Ms. Sandi Ibarra (Local - SO Supervisory Dispatcher)
Communications - Mr. Lee Stanphill (State - MRGDC 911/Homeland Security Director)
Disaster Preparedness & Shelter - Pastor Chamness (Cotulla FUMC)
Disaster Preparedness & Shelter - Isis Sutton (American Red Cross)
Elected/State/Local Officials  - County Treasurer Thelma Trevino (County Courthouse)
​EMS - Captain/AEMC Daniel Mendez (EOC)
Fire - Chief/EMC Les Simmons (EOC)
​GIS Mapping - Mr. Bo Blackmon (S&B - GIS Manager)  
Health & Hospital Facilities - Mr. Matthew Sealy (Las Palmas Nursing Home Administrator)
​Industry - Mr. Tony Martin (Cheyenne Petroleum)
Industry - Mr. Pete Cordova (Sanchez Oil & Gas)
IT Infrastructure - Victor Villareal (EOC)
Law Enforcement - Chief Deputy Watson (Sheriffs Office)
​Media - PIO Mr. Marc Robertson (Sheriffs Office) 
​Public Works  -  Mr. Gilbert Ayala (Cotulla City Commissioner)
Transportation - Dr. Seals (Cotulla ISD Superintendent)

​La Salle County Fire & EMS Administration
Office of Emergency Management
Emergency Operations Center 
247 Mars Drive
Cotulla, TX 78014